Tom Jones. Nick Potts/PA Wire.

Are the Hipsters Hip to Tom Jones?

Gutbloom
4 min readDec 4, 2015

Yesterday alto had a post about Airport ’75 that was really about appreciating the cheesy colossus that was Charlton Heston. The post warmed my heart. I watched the Airport ’75 trailer that he linked to, and it brought me much joy. Don’t deny yourself. You should click on that link, read his post, watch the trailer, and then come back here.

Alto’s post made me wonder; are the hipsters hip to all of the great offerings of yesteryear? My guess is they are. I was listening to “The Wind Cries Mary” one day and one of my younger relatives identified it as a Hendrix tune. I asked how he was so well versed in Hendrix, and he said he knew it from playing Guitar Hero.

But what about Tom Jones? They must know Tom Jones, right? Of course. How could a hipster not already be drunk on Tom Jones? Tom Jones is like a cat. He was Internet ready before there was an Internet. His voice booms out from the age of crappy television, and every wiggle, vocal inflection, and game introduction was captured on tape. His career was custom made for YouTube mastication.

You see, in the old days we had these things called “variety shows”, and, I’m not going to lie to you, they made “Pickers” look an episode of Sherlock. There were hours and hours of bad television. There were dismal skits, tepid songs, soulless dances, and corny jokes, but we watched all of it…

--

--

Gutbloom

Tribune of Medium. Mayor Emeritus of LiveJournal. Third Pharaoh of the Elusive Order of St. John the Dwarf. I am to Medium what bratwurst is to food.